How to watch Rugby World Cup matches in the UK

The good news is all 48 matches will be shown live across various ITV platforms, with most games on ITV1, though ITV4 will also provide coverage.

For our Welsh-language friends, you can check out channel S4C who will also air nine games throughout the tournament including an opening group match, all four Wales group matches plus one fixture per round in the quarter and semi-finals, the third-place play-off and the final.

Want to listen to it on the radio?

BBC Radio Five Live has won exclusive rights to broadcast radio coverage of games in the UK.

Further scheduling information will be confirmed closer to the tournament.

Which teams are in the Rugby World Cup 2019?

There are 20 teams playing in the Rugby World Cup this year:


  • Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Japan
  • Russia
  • Samoa


  • New Zealand
  • South Africa
  • Italy
  • Namibia
  • Canada


  • England
  • France
  • Argentina
  • United States
  • Tonga


  • Australia
  • Wales
  • Georgia
  • Fiji
  • Uruguay

Rugby World Cup fixtures

All fixtures in UK time

Match 1: Japan v Russia
Friday 20th September – 11:45am

Match 2: Australia v Fiji
Saturday 21st September – 5:45am

Match 3: France v Argentina
Saturday 21st September – 8:15am

Match 4: New Zealand v South Africa
Saturday 21st September – 10:45am

Match 5: Italy v Namibia
Sunday 22nd September – 6:15am

Match 6: Ireland v Scotland
Sunday 22nd September – 8:45am

Match 7: England v Tonga
Sunday 22nd September – 11:15am

Match 8: Wales v Georgia
Monday 23rd September – 11:15am

Match 9: Russia v Samoa
Tuesday 24th September – 11:15am

Match 10: Fiji v Uruguay
Wednesday 25th September – 6:15am

Match 11: Italy v Canada
Thursday 26th September – 8:45am

Match 12: England v USA
Thursday 26th September – 11:45am

Match 13: Argentina v Tonga
Saturday 28th September – 5:45am

Match 14: Japan v Ireland
Saturday 28th September – 8:15am

Match 15: South Africa v Namibia
Saturday 28th September – 10:45am

Match 16: Georgia v Uruguay
Sunday 29th September – 6:15am

Match 17: Australia v Wales
Sunday 29th September – 8:45am

Match 18: Scotland v Samoa
Monday 30th September – 11:15am

Match 19: France v USA
Wednesday 2nd October – 8:45am

Match 20: New Zealand v Canada
Wednesday 2nd October – 11:15am

Match 21: Georgia v Fiji
Thursday 3rd October – 6:15am

Match 22: Ireland v Russia
Thursday 3rd October – 11:15am

Match 23: South Africa v Italy
Friday 4th October – 10:45am

Match 24: Australia v Uruguay
Saturday 5th October – 6:15am

Match 25: England v Argentina
Saturday 5th October – 9:00am

Match 26: Japan v Samoa
Saturday 5th October – 11:30am

Match 27: New Zealand v Namibia
Sunday 6th October – 5:45am

Match 28: France v Tonga
Sunday 6th October – 8:45am

Match 29: South Africa v Canada
Tuesday 8th October – 11:15am

Match 30: Argentina v USA
Wednesday 9th October – 5:45am

Match 31: Scotland v Russia
Wednesday 9th October – 8:15am

Match 32: Wales v Fiji
Wednesday 9th October – 10:45am

Match 33: Australia v Georgia
Friday 11th October – 11:15am

Match 34: New Zealand v Italy
Saturday 12th October – 5:45am

Match 35: England v France
Saturday 12th October – 9:15am

Match 36: Ireland v Samoa
Saturday 12th October – 11:45am

Match 37: Namibia v Canada
Sunday 13th October – 4:15am

Match 38: USA v Tonga
Sunday 13th October – 6:45am

Match 39: Wales v Uruguay
Sunday 13th October – 9:15am

Match 40: Japan v Scotland
Sunday 13th October – 11:45am

QF1: Pool C winner v Pool D runner up
Saturday 19th October – 8:15am

QF2: Pool B winner v Pool A runner up
Saturday 19th October – 11:15am

QF3: Pool D winner v Pool C runner up
Sunday 20th October – 8:15am

QF4: Pool A winner v Pool B runner up
Sunday 20th October – 11:15am

SF1: QF1 winner v QF2 winner
Saturday 26th October – 9:00am

SF2: QF3 winner v QF4 winner
Sunday 27th October – 9:00am

Third-place playoff: SF1 loser v SF2 loser
Friday 1st November – 9:00am

Final: SF1 winner v SF2 winner
Saturday 2nd November – 9:00am

How to watch the Rugby World Cup 2019 around the world

Argentina: ESPN

Australia: Fox Sports and Network 10

France: TF1

Ireland: RTÉ and Eir Sport

Japan: Nippon TV, NHK and J Sports

New Zealand: TVNZ and Spark

South Africa: SuperSport

United States: NBC Sports and Univision

Uruguay: ESPN